CRUCH unanimously approves the assignment of a new private university to its Single Admission System

 The Council of Rectors unanimously accepted the request presented by the Silva Henriquez Catholic University (UCSH) to join the Single Admission System (SUA), since it fully complies with the basic criteria established. In session No. 573 held on April 28 at the Federico Santa María Technical University (USM) in Valparaíso, Other relevant issues were also analyzed, such as the allocation of gratuity to approximately 125,000 students and the solidarity credit fund.

 Unanimously, the plenary session of the Council of Rectors approved the assignment of the Cardenal Silva Henríquez Catholic University (UCSH) to the Single Admission System (SUA), after evaluating the application submitted by said university and verifying that it met the three basic criteria established. Meanwhile, the applications from the Bernardo O'Higgins, Autónoma de Chile and San Sebastián universities were not accepted.


“We have analyzed the applications of four universities and the Council, unanimously, has established that the Cardenal Silva Henríquez Catholic University fully complies with the non-profit requirements, in addition to the coherence of the aims and purposes of that institution with the principles and values of the Single Admission System that, in a few words, we reduce to the fact that they are institutions that respond in their admission system to the principles of impartiality, objectivity, and of course recognition of the merit that, in the case of the Universidad Católica Silva Henríquez, we see perfectly fulfilled, and also the accreditation requirement that we requested ”, specified the executive vice president of the Council of Rectors and rector of the University of Valparaíso Aldo Valle, in the context of session No. 573 held on 28 last April at the Federico Santa María Technical University in Valparaíso.


In the case of the Bernardo O'Higgins University, it was verified that this house of studies did not meet the requirement regarding accreditation. The rector Valle explained that "this university has three years of accreditation to date and the CRUCH unanimously considered that it could not enter the SUA for the same reason."


With respect to the Autonomous University of Chile and the San Sebastián University, the plenary session of the Board considered that due to the information presented by said study houses, it was not possible to verify compliance with the requirement that establishes the absence of profit as a fundamental condition. “In the case of both universities, the Council of Rectors unanimously considered that this condition was not met to be part of the SUA and neither with any other of the requirements that was established, in the sense that these institutions in their purposes should be coherent and consistent with the principles and values that inspire and found the SUA: impartiality, objectivity, transparency, recognition of merit and of course equity and inclusion ", stated the executive vice president of CRUCH, anticipating that the first week of May a communication will be sent formal to the four universities that presented their applications with the decision adopted by the Council of Rectors in each case.


It should be remembered that the criteria to apply for the Single Admission System, agreed by the CRUCH in its session at the end of March 2016, were three: that the institutions comply with the norm contemplated in law 20,890 with respect to accreditation for a specific period since its controllers, as appropriate, are non-profit natural or legal persons; that they commit to full compliance with the rules and procedures of the Single Admission System, as well as the agreements of the Council of Rectors referring to the Admission Process; and that the institutions demonstrate compatibility of their institutional mission and vision with the principles of the CRUCH Single Admission System.


In this way, the Single Admission System would be made up of 36 universities: the 27 universities of the Council of Rectors, including the University of Aysén and the Bernardo O'Higgins University, the eight private universities attached since 2011 (Diego Portales University, Universidad Mayor, Universidad Finis Terrae, Universidad Andrés Bello, Universidad Adolfo Ibáñez, Universidad de Los Andes, Universidad del Desarrollo and Universidad Alberto Hurtado) and, as of this year, Universidad Católica Cardenal Silva Henríquez.


On the other hand, with respect to the protection appeal recently presented by the Central University against the Council of Rectors, considering that the demands for private universities to join the SUA represent arbitrary discrimination, the executive vice president of CRUCH said no have knowledge of the document that establishes that protection resource. He also pointed out that "we understand that all subjects, all natural or legal persons have the right to appeal to the courts, but once we have the antecedents we will evaluate the merit and the pronouncement that we will have as CRUCH."


Gratuity assignment

The CRUCH session was attended by the Chief of the Division of Higher Education (DIVESUP) of the Ministry of Education (MINEDUC), Francisco Martínez, who provided details on the recent process of assigning gratuity to approximately 125 thousand students.


On the occasion, the rectors made a set of observations aimed at achieving greater clarity about the process and, in this way, being able to inform their respective student communities. In this regard, the rector Aldo Valle said that, “we have been able to appreciate that the process has not yet finished, however we have had the assurance from the Director of DIVESUP, in the sense that there is no change in policy at all. Consequently, students will retain the same benefits they had before the gratuity policy was implemented, therefore, students who do not finally access gratuity will have access to other instruments, other benefits, such as a solidarity fund or scholarships. ”.


According to the executive vice president of the Council of Rectors, the Ministry of Finance of the MINEDUC will publish on May 11 the results of the applications for scholarships and, according to that information, the situation of students who have not been able to resolve the financing of their education or their fees through the benefits granted by the Ministry.


Although, the gratuity being a benefit that is implemented for the first time and the universities have received the resources that were committed particularly for the first semester, in the session, the rectors expressed to the head of the DIVESUP that the uncertainty and ambiguity of the Information that has existed until now generates an environment that does not benefit the implementation of this policy. In this regard, Valle emphasized that “we want more certainty in the implementation of this policy, because from the point of view of the institutions we have received the corresponding free resources committed at the beginning of this policy, but many students and their families do not have the clarity , they do not have the confidence that we believe it is essential that they have, so that precisely this does not become a difficulty, a threat for many families who trusted in the commitment of this public policy ”.


By CRUCH Communications Area, April 29, 2016