Rector José Rodríguez was distinguished with the 2014 National Award for Applied and Technological Sciences

The jury chaired by the Minister of Education, Nicolás Eyzaguirre, decided to award the National Prize of Cs. Applied and Technological 2014 to the civil engineer and rector of the Federico Santa María Technical University, José Rodríguez Pérez.

On Friday, August 22, the jury unanimously decided to award the 2014 National Prize for Applied and Technological Sciences to José Rodríguez Pérez, an Electrical Engineer and university academic with an outstanding national and international career.

After analyzing in depth the background and merits of the candidates for the award, the jury based its decision "on his large production of scientific publications, which has placed him as the Chilean researcher with the greatest international recognition in the area of electrical engineering" , Minister Eyzaguirre explained.

The secretary of state and president of the jury also highlighted his academic career, “which began as a sub-technician, and went on to obtain a doctorate in Germany. Likewise, the jury highlighted its contribution to the formation of advanced human capital ”.

José Rodríguez is a Civil Electrical Engineer from the Federico Santa María Technical University (UTFSM) and a PhD in Engineering, specializing in electrical engineering from the University of Erlangen, Germany.

The winner is an active researcher and has participated since 1987 in numerous FONDECYT projects; in a Millennium Nucleus (2005-2008) and in the Basal Center of Excellence (2009-2012). He has had national and international recognition in the area of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, and he is the only Chilean included by Thompson Reuters in its 2014 Highly Cited Research list, which distinguishes the most influential researchers in the world in the scientific field.

In his career he has received various awards for his research work, including being a Fellow Member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) in the United States.

Along with his scientific work, he is currently rector of the Federico Santa María Technical University. "It is remarkable that his scientific work was carried out in parallel to his role as rector", Minister Eyzaguirre revealed.

The Jury was made up of the Minister of Education, Nicolás Eyzaguirre; Ennio Vivaldi, Rector of the University of Chile; Sergio Lavanchy, Rector of the University of Concepción, representing CRUCH and María Elena Boisier, President (S) of CONICYT. The last winner in this discipline, Ricardo Uauy, excused his participation because he was outside the country.

The National Award granted by the Ministry of Education is the highest recognition granted by the State of Chile to those who have stood out for their creativity, professional career and relevant contribution to the development of the country's sciences, humanities and arts.